Allergy & Asthma Physicians
Call Us at (630) 455-0456

Reviews/Testimonials (From Yelp/Facebook/Healthgrades)


Liz H.,    Darien, IL

Feb23, 2017

I had visited at least 5 doctors prior to seeing Dr. Jacobson. All prior doctors were basically treating me for sinus/allergy issues but I continued to get sick over and over again. No doctor could identify what was going on. I decided to see an allergist to see if maybe my problem was due to allergies. Dr. Jacobson was on my insurance plan and that is how I found him. Lo and Behold, he turned out to be the perfect choice! He was the second doctor who had mentioned migraines that present as sinus. He worked with me to determine the root cause of my issues and prescribed the perfect solution. In addition, I found that everyone in the office was friendly and accommodating. Very pleasant experience with everyone. Thank you Dr. Jacobson!


Kelly M.,   Merrillville, IN

Feb 16, 2017

I was referred to dr. Jacobson by my daughter's pediatrician. Over the last 3 years she been put on antibiotics, inhalers, and every day allergy pill. For a cough and sinus infections that wouldn't go away. After meeting with dr. Jacobson and doing her allergy test. We found out she is has lots of items she is allergic to. He was amazing at explaining everything to me and my 5 yr old daughter. So good my daughter now explains how allergies and sinus work to everyone. I am very happy with my experience here at the office. The nurses and office staff are great as well. Looking forward to the continued help from this office and working with everyone to help my daughter feel better. Thank you again Dr. Jacobson and staff. And also I would recommend them to everyone.


Arlington Heights, IL

Jan 27, 2017

Dr. Richmond is an excellent immunologist. His medical knowledge and research in the field is extensive. I had a child who would more than likely not have survived to adulthood without his diagnosis and ongoing medical treatment. He is direct and knowledgable. If he does not know the answer, he will endeavor to find it. A true professional in the field of medicine.


JP ,   Downer's Grove, IL

July 29, 2016

I heard about Allergy and Asthma Physicians from a friend whose year long sinus ailment was cured there. I can't recommend Dr. Mark Jacobson highly enough-- he's OUTSTANDING, VERY CREATIVE in his approach. He solved my LIFELONG SINUS INFECTION PROBLEM-- three or four episodes every year for OVER FIFTY YEARS! NO OTHER DOCTOR MADE A DIFFERENCE IN ALL THAT TIME, including a surgeon who operated to open up my sinus cavities. After studying the imaging of my sinuses which he requested, Dr. Jacobson theorized I had a lingering chronic infection which was never fully resolved by the usual ten day dose of antibiotics. I was skeptical when he prescribed a long course of powerful antibiotics (balanced by probiotics), but his plan worked beautifully. (He also told me of other options available if that approach didn't work.) I've now gone for over a year without a hint of a problem. Previously any sign of a cold led immediately to an infection and I was forced to take weeks' worth of antibiotics year after year. Now, the automatic triggering of a full-fledged sinus infection no longer occurs. I agree with Dan H's comments: Dr. Jacobson listens attentively and is quite thorough. He was always accessible by phone when I needed him and followed up at the end of the treatment. I waited until now to thank him to be absolutely sure that I am cured. I am. What a relief! I never thought I would be free of this problem. THANK YOU, DOCTOR JACOBSON


Ruth,  North Riverside, IL

Jun 22, 2016

Great experience! My husband and I just went in for our first appointment with Dr. Jacobson and we will definitely be going back! He took so much time with us, listened to us, explained things to us. The staff is awesome, too!


John   Chicago, IL

Feb 22, 2016

Dr. Richmond has helped treat my mother and I over the last fifteen years. We both suffer from a rare autoimmune disease that went undiagnosed by other physicians. Dr. Richmond was able to properly diagnose our disorder and help us get treatment for it. He explained in great detail the options we had for treatment and helped us decide what would work best. He spent hours with us and did not rush us into a decision. He is by far the most compassionate doctor I've been to.


Julie (Naperville, IL)  

March 18, 2016


Dr. Jacobson is the most thorough, responsible and caring doctor I have ever been to. He puts so much time and effort into patient care and actually takes the time to call you when necessary. I feel like I can trust Dr. Jacobson to give me the most quality care in allergy and immunology. I would recommend him to anyone.


Kim N. (Glenview, IL)

1/8/2016

If only all doctors could be like Dr. Mark Jacobson!  Thorough, patient, competent and compassionate are just a few words I would use to describe him. The office staff couldn't be nicer!   They are competent and efficient with my difficult insurance company. Dr. Jacobson was able to catch several things that my old allergist missed that have been key in improving my overall health.  It was because he took the time to ask me questions and listen to me and also that he is very knowledgable.


Dan H. (Willowbrook, IL)

2/3/2016

Dr. Mark Jacobson and his staff are absolutely terrific!  I had been suffering with a sinus infection for about 6 months, with very little relief using the treatments of an Ear, Nose, and Throat Physician.  I decided to see if I was having allergy problems, and visited Dr. Jacobson.    I learned I have no allergies, but I do have a lingering sinus infection.  I was sneezing 30 times a day, and blowing my nose around the clock.  He prescribed some medications and treatments, and within 48 hours, I was almost symptom free.  It has been a month since that first visit, and I continue to have no difficulty with my sinuses.  Thinking back to my initial appointment, I was managed by a very competent staff, and Dr. Jacobsen was extremely thorough.  He listens very intently, and he spent an incredible amount of time with me.  As I was leaving, I remember saying to everyone that this was a wonderful doctor visit.  I have a scheduled a follow-up, and I am looking forward to report that I feel great!


Angela P. (Willowbrook, IL)

1/13/2016

I first went to Dr. Jacobson in 2001 for constant sinus infections.  He was able to find what was causing them when no one else could.  He also diagnosed an autoimmune disease and saved me much pain and discomfort.  Dr. Jacobson is not an ordinary Doctor.  He listens, asks questions, and  researches for the best drug or cure.  He takes his time.  He even returned an emergency call of mine when he was moving his freshman son to college. If you are interested in decor or spin, this isn't the place for you, but if you want to be cured, feel better, and have someone show concern then this is the place you should go!
I recommend Dr. Jacobson to friends and family and know they will be in good hands!


Melissa J (Plainfield, IL)

3/1/2016

Dr. Richmond is the best ever.  He takes his time to listen to you and your symptoms and then diagnosis your condition and provides the correct meds to help you get well.  If for some reason the therapy doesn't work he will do his best to look for other options.  The staff is also wonderful.  Definitely a place to be doctored. 


John   Chicago, IL

Feb 22, 2016

Dr. Richmond has helped treat my mother and I over the last fifteen years. We both suffer from a rare autoimmune disease that went undiagnosed by other physicians. Dr. Richmond was able to properly diagnose our disorder and help us get treatment for it. He explained in great detail the options we had for treatment and helped us decide what would work best. He spent hours with us and did not rush us into a decision. He is by far the most compassionate doctor I've been to.


Annette D. (Highland Park, IL)

1/9/2016

Dr Jacobson saw our daughter,on very short notice, as her GP wanted her to find out why she was having so many ear infections.  He found she had a few allergies and was able to treat them with a nasal spray. She felt relief within a couple of days. She also appreciated the gentle treatment and simple explanations that Dr Jacobson provided. We highly recommend this practice.

 


Lisa P. (LaGrange, IL)

4/29/2015

Our son (1.5 years old) has a multitude of allergy issues including food and seasonal allergies and skin issues. Dr. Jacobson has a been a saving grace in our quest to identify and treat each ailment as it has come up. We always felt assured that the doctor would continue to search until he found the answer and once determined, he has given our son stellar treatment that has made noticeable differences in very short amounts of time. Thanks to Dr. Jacobson's quick and correct diagnosis of our son's food allergies, he is on a restricted diet that gives him all the nutrients he needs without our having to worry about any hidden dangers. His seasonal allergies have led to bad excema for which nothing was working, until we saw Dr. Jacobson and he prescribed a course of action. Within literally two days, our son's skin had cleared up completely so that you'd never know anything had happened.

If you're looking for an allergist for yourself or your children, I don't know that you can find a better one.


Laura P. (Darien, IL)

10/16/2014

My family and I have been seeing Dr. Jacobson for about 3 years. Dr. Jacobson is not one to just hand out a prescription and be on his way. He is very thorough, listens and takes the time to educate his patients.

Additionally, his staff is always warm and friendly. I never feel like an assembly-line patient. I would recommend Dr. Jacobson to anyone!


Megan W. (Cook,IL)

4/3/2014

 Dr. Jacobson has literally changed our lives! Our two oldest children have life threatening nut allergies. After seeing three other allergist, we found Dr. Jacobson. He demystified this whole thing of us, making it manageable and much less scary. Can't recommend him highly enough!!


Julie Z. (Bloomington,IL)

3/26/2014

 Dr. Jacobson and his staff are amazing people. Because of their patience and willingness to take the time to fully evaluate my allergy case, I am now able to eat tree nuts again! Everyone there was so kind, helpful, and knowledgeable, and I really appreciated how much time they took with me to make sure I had all my questions and concerns addressed. Thank you, Allergy and Asthma Physicians, for greatly improving my quality of life! I highly recommend this practice for anyone in the Chicagoland area (or the rest of the Midwest) looking for an allergist.


Chris G.  (Lemont, IL)

3/31/14

 

“This place is awesome. I found it on yelp and decided to go there based on the great reviews and the place definitely lived up to my expectations. Everybody there was extremely helpful and friendly and the Dr. explained to me everything I ever needed to know about allergies and after some testing got me exactly what I needed to help relieve my symptoms. Not only did he help, but did not mind answering any questions I had, whether they were good or bad questions, with detailed explanations. Can't wait to keep coming here for any allergy needs I have!!”

 

Trish S.  (Naperville, IL)

2/11/2014

 

“I have been bringing my daughter to Dr. Jacobson for 10 years.  He has been outstanding with her egg allergy.  He diagnosed her with celiac disease 3 years ago when no one else could figure out what was wrong with her, including pediatric dermatologists and our pediatrician.  More recently, he correctly prescribed the right medication to rid her of a sinus infection she had been suffering from for months.  

The care provided by him and his staff has, literally, been life-saving.  We drive from Naperville to Hinsdale to see him specifically and for her to get allergy shots because we so firmly believe in the care he has provided her since she was a baby”.


 Aleta T.  (Clarendon Hills, IL)

7/6/2013

 

“After going to many different doctors for obscure symptoms, I found Dr. Mark Jacobson with Allergy and Asthma Physicians.  This may sound dramatic but it is true, he helped save my life from an immune disease I have.  First, he told I was having severe side effects from a medication another doctor had me on which was making my condition worse.  Secondly, he sent me for a second opinion to Dr. Richmond who is now in practice with Dr. Jacobson.  Both are excellent doctors.  who together helped accurately diagnosis my problem.  There are many things I like about Dr. Jacobson, he takes the necessary time with you, listens, and you never feel like he's rushing to get to the next patient.  If you feel something isn't working, he discusses options and listens to your ideas.  He monitors medication and is flexible to try different things and to try to decrease doses when possible.  I feel he didn't give up on me as a patient when a pulmonologist told me "from everything I've read, your disease is fatal."  Dr. Jacobson gave me hope and referred me to the lung transplant department at Loyola.  Fortunately I didn't need a lung transplant and twelve years later I am doing well thanks to Dr. Jacobson.  Both Dr. Richmond and Dr. Jacobson really care about their patients!”

 

 Shirley B.  (Bolingbrook, IL)

11/1/2013

 

“I have been seeing Dr. Jacobson for over 15 years. 10 years ago I moved to a new home that is 45 minutes away from his office. The care that I receive from him and his staff is well worth the drive. Most of his staff, who are also caring and wonderful, have remained unchanged in that time which is also a testament to the compassionate, family environment in his office.  I have many examples of how he has made a difference in my and my son's life. I listed just a few. Truly the reason that he has been so effective in our care is because when he walks into the room and asks, "How have you been?", it's not just a greeting. He sincerely wants to know and he listens. It is so rare these days to find a medical professional who will take the time to treat you with this level of respect and caring.

I developed allergies and asthma after moving to Illinois 18 years ago. Other Dr.'s had me taking up to 12 doses a day of 3-4 meds for the asthma and I was still going to the ER up to once a week in fall (my peak allergy season). After finding Dr. Jacobson, I now have only one inhaler that I use as needed which is infrequently.

Dr. Jacobson also treated my son. As an infant, he had been ill and his pediatrician recommended I temporarily stop breast feeding and put him on formula. My son had an anaphylactic reaction to the dairy in the formula. At his age (2 1/2 months) this was not common and the pediatrician had no information for me. I immediately took him to see Dr. Jacobson. A blood test showed that he had other food allergies as well. It is because of the wealth of information Dr. Jacobson had and the clear instructions he gave me that I was able to care for my son and he eventually outgrew his food allergies. Today he eats pizza and ice cream like any other 11 year old. 

 

A few years later, I developed acute chest pains on my left side. My general Dr. ran tests on my heart and found no problems. I went to see Dr. Jacobson for a checkup because my asthma had also been increasingly worse. When he asked what else had been going on in my life I told him about the chest pains. He diagnosed GERD (reflux). I later saw a GI Dr., who did tests and confirmed what Dr. Jacobson had told me. My asthma is now again under control and no more chest pains thanks to Dr. Jacobson.

For everything...Thank you to Dr. Jacobson, your family, and everyone at your office who has taken care of me and my family.”

 

Jenn C.  (Hinsdale, IL)

6/4/2012

 

“Dr. Richmond his partner and their staff are so wonderful!  Oh how I love that my doctor really tries his best with helping me and my asthma and allergies as I suffer all year round!  What's great is that he always gives samples (when available) and is generous about it too.  He is super knowledgable and has many many years of experience.  I've been his patient for about 5 years now (I've only lived here for that long) and I have no complaints!”

 

ML.  (La Grange, IL)

1/26/2012

 

“If your child is experiencing persistent sinus infections, or you suspect allergies?
Mark Jacobson is the Dr to see you through!  My daughter, 8 years, was treated as a "whole" child right from the start. Dr Jacobson's intuitive approach to both parent and child is completely appreciated.  My daughter explains this best, "He would always tell the truth.  I mean, I started out scared, It's a lot of work to get rid of a sinus infection!!! But, I wanted to know what was wrong with me and how to make it stop!  Plus, I'm pretty sure he fixed me:)."

 

 Gail S.  (Des Plaines, IL)

1/17/2012

 “Dr. Jacobson is amazing. My son was was getting sick every couple of weeks for over a year. He'd feel bad, have sinus/cold symptoms, get on medication, be well for a few weeks and then the cycle was repeated. At one point we went to an allergist, who diagnosed my son with asthma and put him on Advair. he was on it for several months. My son was athletic and never had problems being out of breath or wheezing. We took him to Allergy & Asthma Physicians, Dr. Jacobson diagnosed him son with a chronic sinus infection that had become immune to many medicines. He put my son on a low dose of something, checked on my son when the medication was over and he has NOT had another sinus infection since! Dr. Jacobson told us what we could do to prevent sinus infections. Now when my son starts to get a cold, we can use preventitive measures and we no longer need to see an allergist. It has been a couple years now and he is fine. So Dr. Jacobson is not only a smart and thourough doctor. He is also honest and kind and really takes his time looking at a patients whole situation. He is highly recommended by my family!!!”

 

Terry G.  (Highland Park, IL)

1/15/2012

 “Dr. Jacobson is an extremely knowledgable, patient and helpful doctor.  He has been a comfort to me and my family when we are in need of medical advice and care.  I would highly recommend him to any family in need of care.”

 

Marla C.  (Glenview, IL)

1/8/2012

 “Every member of our family has been a patient of Dr. Jacobson.  He is extremely thorough, very bright, and never gives up - even on challenging situations including my annoying chronic cough.  He is very patient, kind and competent.  Dr. Jacobson's office staff is very friendly and responsive. I highly recommend him for the young and the old!”

 

Andy F.  (Glenview, IL)

1/8/2012

 “This is medical care like it used to be - with a knowledgeable doctor who knows his stuff and really cares. I have trusted my family to Dr. Jacobson and his staff for years and have never had a bad experience. I recommend this fine practice to anyone looking to deal with their allergy problems once and for all.”

 

Ali B.  (Hinsdale, IL)

6/8/2011

 “This place is great! They were surprised to hear that I used Yelp to find them. I definitely recommend them. They're friendly, helpful and professional. I'm glad that I saw all the positive reviews and decided to go see them. Thanks Yelp users for the advice!”

 

Gemma K.  (Lombard, IL)

6/6/2011

 “Well, once again, and on super short notice, I sent up a flair to this office and the medication matter was not only handled promptly; but the speed of communications would have had the Pentagon shaking their heads in amazement. This kind of efficiency is way so important when you have insurance companies (and such) in the mix. Thanks Pam and everyone!

 I have been treated by Dr. Jacobson since he began his practice and I must admit that I wish all physicians would follow his example. He listens, he cares, he finds solutions that work, and most importantly, he is old school -- which in today's medical climate you rarely find. Rosemary is wonderful (she always manages to find a slot when no slot is to be found): Pam is a calm and relaxed professional RN: and Deanna always takes time to chat. This practice has a family feel about it and the medical care is excellent. I have referred others there who have had similar results. And on the rare occasions when the physicians require paging -- the response time was super: even on holidays!! There practice has grown and I can only hope these standards will be maintained as more who deal with asthma and allergies show up at the door. Keep up the great work and thanks!!!!”

 

Jodi C. (Glenview, IL)

3/28/2011

 “Dr. Jacobson has treated my whole family for a number of allergy, asthma and sinus issues and occasionally for other things too. When I had a stubborn sinus infection he was the 4th doctor I saw and the one to finally prescribe the right combination of drugs for me. Needless to say when it comes to the nose, I'll go to him first next time. He really knows his stuff and takes the time to listen to everything I tell him and he explains very clearly what is going on and what I need to do about it. His patience is unending, his care complete and his kindness and understanding are heartwarming. His staff is just as wonderful and the office runs like a machine. I don't normally write reviews or complaints but this practice is truly special. I wish I had the same confidence in every doctor I saw.”

 

Jenna S.  (Chicago, IL)

8/30/2009

 

“After all of the horrid medical-related experiences I've had lately, Allergy and Asthma is a godsend!  I am absolutely thrilled that I found Dr. Richmond!  He is probably the best doctor I have seen since my family doctor retired back when I was 16.  

Enter: me.  I haven't had insurance for about eight months and that does NOT help a person with pretty severe environmental allergies.  I had been ordering my allergy medication online from a Canadian pharmacy (thank God) but could not go see a doctor at all about curbing my symptoms or curing a sinus infection.  Finally, in August, I was lucky enough to become one of the few insured in this country, so I started calling around.  Though I loved Oakbrook Allergists, I didn't feel like they were following the course of treatment that I wanted, so I went on the hunt for another allergy doctor.

By the way, don't try to find an allergy doctor here in the city of Chicago.  It's a futile search, at best.  You don't want to go to UIC or Northwestern or Rush because their hours suck and the care isn't as personal as it would be in a small, private practice.  Other allergists have no new patient appointments or inconvenient hours.  I seriously sat on the phone calling allergists for over an HOUR before I found Dr. Richmond.  Boy, was it worth it.  I do not mind the 45 minute drive to Hinsdale in traffic to see these doctors.  It is absolutely worth it, especially since there isn't a ton of waiting because they're not trying to treat every person in the city.  

So here I am, finally seeing an allergist.  No long wait, I got my preliminary tests done immediately by one of the nicest nurses ever and then saw the doctor.  Every single person who works in this office is super nice and talkative.  They make it a point to remember your name and what you look like to really give personalized service.  I had to come back the following day for some more tests and they immediately greeted me by name and began talking.  Super nice and friendly!  

Turns out, I'm allergic to something in all six categories of environmental allergens so I had a long discussion with Dr. Richmond about what that means.  He gave me several options for treatment and then asked me what I wanted to do.  I like it when a doctor presents information but then asks the patient what to do - they aren't trying to make executive decisions about everything.  I like having a say in my own treatment without being met with resistance from a doctor.  We decided together that allergy shots would be the best thing for me and that's what I'm doing now.  

Seriously, if you have insane allergy problems, go here.  It's worth the drive to see these guys and they have great evening hours on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday (open till 7 p.m.!).  The entire staff is really, really friendly and the doctors are very, very knowledgeable in allergy and immunology.  The desk staff are all very knowledgeable in insurance, as well.  They are very up-front about payments and what Blue Cross typically covers and what they don't.  They seemed very willing to prepare me for any out-of-pocket expenses that I might incur just so I am aware of everything that could happen.  Awesome!  I am very happy to be a patient here and I am looking forward to all of my future visits!”

 

Sherry W.  (Willow Springs, IL)

10/29/2011

 

“I have been a patient of Dr. Richmond's for over twenty years now and he is the best.   He is extremely competent and genuinely nice, and takes the time to listen and explain so that you know what you are dealing with and why.  My asthma was new to me and out of control when I first met him.  It is now well controlled, and it is not obvious that I have asthma as I go about life.  You can't ask for better than that.

As to the office staff and nurses, I couldn't agree more with the other reviews.  They are pleasant, efficient, knowedgeable, helpful.  In other words, just great!   Reading Jodi C.'s review of Dr. Jacobson, is like reading the review I just gave Dr. Richmond.  No one could do better than coming to this office for help.”

 

Norm E.  (North Riverside, IL)

4/26/2010

 

“I have been dealing with asthma and allergies forever...after years of struggling with it I decided I would take a shot with these guys and see what they can do for me.  Like Jenna's review I was thrilled!  From the second I walked in the door until the minute I walked out I was treated with top notch care and respect.  I honestly can not think of anything bad to say.

They tested my lung function and did the whole battery of allergy prick tests and we found out what exactly I am being bothered by...and also, what I am not!  For years I thought I was allergic to some shellfish and after this appt I know that I am clear...

After my meeting with the doctor he and I talked about a plan to keep my asthma under control and now it has been a few weeks and everything seems so much better.  I have a follow up appointment in a couple weeks and will post if anything else changes.

If you need to see a great office who really cares about YOU and not so much the money I would look them up...”

 

Lisa B.  (Glenview, IL)

5/12/2013

 

“My daughter has suffered from allergies and asthma for years.  We finally found Dr. Jacobson. He listened to my daughter and tested her to find out exactly what she was allergic to.  

He was kind and patient while explaining everything to my daughter.  He discussed the process, results, and treatment with her in a way she can understand.  He was also readily available to explain the same to me and answer  any questions that we had.

He tried to use different medications before beginning allergy shots.  Her allergies and asthma are finally under control thanks to Dr. Jacobson and his staff.

The office staff is very friendly and helpful.  Getting an appointment is not a problem because they have evening hours.

We are very happy and grateful to have Dr. Jacobson as our doctor.”

 

TJ.  (Hillside, IL)

3/24/2012

 

“Dr. Jacobson is a very knowledgeable doctor.  He has treated my son since he was a little boy for asthma, seasonal & food allergies, now he is 15 years old.  His conditions are all manageable because of the education and knowledge that Dr. Jacobson provides. We even found out about an asthma camp through Dr.  Jacobson whereby my son learned how to manage his asthma, enjoy sports or other activities and not be limited because of his asthma & allergies.  Dr. Jacobson treats the entire person by using something that some doctors and people lack "the listening ear".  To top this off, other members of our family including myself have been treated by Dr. Jacobson and nothing but top notch treatment. His staff is also the best, they're professional and treat you so nice, it's amazing!   I have referred friends and they all stated "hands off he is the best doctor ever".  So if you're trying to get to the bottom of your asthma/allergy problem, he is the doctor for you.  I guarantee, you will be wonderfully blessed.”

 

 


Home
Our Physicians
Our Reviews
Videos & More
Pollen Counts
Helpful Links
Office FAQs
Cool Kids Stuff
Location
Contact Us
Research Trials
Site Terms/Disclaimer

Your Reviews & Comments are Greatly Appreciated 

 

Allergy and Asthma Physicians
 
Dr Jacobson
 
 
Dr Richmond
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Office Hours:

Monday 9 am–7 pm
Tuesday 9 am–7 pm
Wed 10am–4 pm
Thursday 9 am–7 pm
Friday 8 am–2 pm